MOUNTAIN pottery // wood firing / tafe / results

So here are my pots out of the tafe wood firing. Pretty pleased I have to say, it was said that my blue Chun bowl had to be the gem of the kiln! And I would have to agree, not that I had very much control over it, it was more in the right place at the right time. Meaning it just happened to be stacked in just the right spot in the kiln and fired for just the right amount before cooling down, to result in the glaze drips hanging, but not dripping off the pot. A very rare occurrence and extremely difficult to control or recreate again, so it deserves to be the gem of the kiln, but I can’t take credit : )

The light shino tea bowl is one I made from a previous post on my kick wheel. And both dark and light tea bowls are glazed in the same shino glaze, the difference in colour due to the clay used, one is on Feeney’s Dark stoneware, and the other is Clayworks porcelain.

The dark shino tea bowl was fired in the kiln placed on the bag wall (where the flames first enter the kiln and travel over the wall which creates a lot of ash deposits). At first I wasn’t to keen on the reddish brown colour, because I prefer the lighter creamy shinos, but it is a really nice rich deep colour.

 

About MOUNTAINpottery

Mountain Pottery is designed and handmade by Deanne Sarita Smart. The studio is located in a small town of Sassafras in the Mountains of Australia. This pottery is made to be collected, loved and used everyday as some of your most treasured belongings. Each piece is unique and made to order. Aside from being beautiful and functional objects, each collection has an underlying meaning, message or intention. All the vessels are inspired in some way by myth, nature, and symbolic language. About this blog // This blog is designed to be a place of inspiration to others with the same interests and point of view, as well as a look into the creation of Mountain Pottery.

One comment

  1. N

    These beauties, I would be reluctant to hold one in my accident prone hands. I love your work.

Leave a Reply

