MOUNTAIN pottery // preserved lemons / tagine

There is a saying “if life gives you lemons make lemonade”, I like to say “if life gives you lemons, preserve them for the Tagine I made!”

And that’s what I did. Here at the farm there is an abundance of lemon trees (at least 8 mature trees), which means a whole heap of lemons, for lemon pudding, lemon cake, lemon slice, so yum, and today Moroccan preserved lemons that are commonly used in Tagine dishes.

I made a terracotta tagine pot the other day, – you can see it on the wheel in my last post – it’s just a test, it has problems, the lid is to thin. I used 1.7kg for the base and the same for the lid, because thats all I had left of terracotta, but the lid obviously needed a little more clay than the base because it is bigger. Now I have a rough idea of the clay proportions, I will make another slightly bigger version to serve four instead of two.

While searching for tagine recipes, I came across youtube video on how to preserve lemons, it’s so easy I just want to preserve them all, I hope they taste nice, I’m sure they will.

I’m so looking forward to trying out my test tagine. I have never made a tagine pot before this one, or cooked a tagine dish, so it’s all new and exciting for me, I have just heard delicious stories about them and had to make one for myself. I love the idea of them to, simple slow cooking, all in one simple handmade clay pot, so lovely.

For more information about tagine pots and recipes this is a really good book, Tagine by Ghille Basan , and I found some good quality traditional tagine spices on ebay, and of course I will let you know how it goes.

About MOUNTAINpottery

Mountain Pottery is designed and handmade by Deanne Sarita Smart. The studio is located in a small town of Sassafras in the Mountains of Australia. This pottery is made to be collected, loved and used everyday as some of your most treasured belongings. Each piece is unique and made to order. Aside from being beautiful and functional objects, each collection has an underlying meaning, message or intention. All the vessels are inspired in some way by myth, nature, and symbolic language. About this blog // This blog is designed to be a place of inspiration to others with the same interests and point of view, as well as a look into the creation of Mountain Pottery.

Leave a Reply

